Food Awareness

I am currently in a Food and Nutrition class (because I have to, not because I want to) and have learned about calories, carbohydrates, and other things that “make up” food. Healthy eating has never really been part of my lifestyle, but neither has unhealthy eating. I think of my food awareness to be more of a balanced thing, and I am more of a working out believer than cutting on meats and eating more leaves than you should.


I personally don’t think I will ever be a person who focuses on calories and things that are organic and extra healthy and such. I do agree with the Italian “Live to eat” instead of an “Eat to live” mentality because there is so much good food out there and really life is too short to be worrying about those things. Don’t get me wrong, I do not eat extra fatty foods on a daily basis and eat as much as fits my stomach everyday, what I mean is that I don’t really have guilt if I eat something delicious but fattening. My first semester in college I did slack and gained more weight than I expected, so I have found better ways to maintain my weight.

I am the type of person with the mentality that watching what you eat should not be in your mind during the weekends. Now again, this does not mean “go all out”, but I do think desserts are a must over the weekend. During the week, I try to eat healthier and be more active. A great part of my diet is oatmeal, which is healthy and easy to make for breakfast. Another healthy thing I like for breakfast is special-K, in its many forms, and I have found that the Special-k diet actually works.

As I said on my Chocolate blog, I like having options and variety. And Special-k cereals definitely have variety! Among my favorites are Red Berries, Vanilla Almond and Fruit and Yogurt. I just tried the Fruit and Yogurt last week and I loved it!!

I have learned the hard way that breakfast is key to healthy eating and a good lifestyle. Sometimes I don’t make time for it, because sleep comes down to be more important at that point in time. But I do try to make time for it as frequently as possible.

Other areas in which I can see my food awareness is because I don’t really drink soda as frequently, and try to drink a lot more water. I do love orange juice, but the one at the dining court tastes not like orange juice at all.

Leave a comment